Blog essay: Why I won’t be at my high school reunion


By Mark C. Chu-Carroll
scienceblogs.com
If you’re not interested in completely off-topic personal rambling, stop reading now. This is very off-topic. But I wanted to say this once, and I wanted to do it in a way where I had some control over the publicly viewable responses. I will not be following my usual commenting guidelines here – anything which I consider to be abusive will be deleted, with no warning.

I graduated from high school in 1984. Which means that this year is my graduating class’s 25th year reunion. As a result, a bunch of people from my high school class have been trying to friend me on facebook, sending me email, and trying to convince me to come to the reunion.

I don’t feel like replying to them individually, which is why I’m writing here.

As pretty much any reader of this blog who isn’t a total idiot must have figured out by now, I’m a geek. I have been since I was a kid. My dad taught me about bell curves and standard deviations when I was in third grade, and I thought it was pretty much the coolest damn thing I’d ever seen. That’s the kind of kid I was. I was also very small – 5 foot 1 when I started high school, 5 foot three my junior year. Even when I shot up in height, to nearly 5 foot eleven between junior and senior year, I weighed under 120 pounds. So think small, skinny, hyperactive, geek. Full story.

 Tell us what you think:

One Response

  1. Thanks for sharing. I closed that chapter of my life long time ago. Living well is the best revenge (George Herbert). I was not smart enough to be a geek/nerd though. I did not attend HS in U.S. I am currently a postdoctoral research fellow at one of the tier-one research university in U.S. I received graduate school training in the U.S., in sociology and biostatistics.

Leave a Reply

