Friends say bullying drove Cleburne, Tx teen to kill himself


BY MITCH MITCHELL
Fort Worth Star-Telegram.com
CLEBURNE — The rain began falling shortly before Hunter Layland’s funeral Saturday afternoon.

A friend said it was as if the sky was crying for the troubled teen, a Cleburne High School freshman who committed suicide last week.

Hunter Layland, 15, shot himself before school Wednesday, at about 6:35 a.m. He was at home. Friends and family members say he endured constant bullying, contributing to his death.

About 350 people attended his funeral, where a photograph and football uniform were positioned next to his casket.

“I knew that people picked on him, but I never knew that it was this bad,” said Hailey Dunaway, 14. “I don’t think he knew this many people cared about him.”

Since his death, Mary Layland, the aunt who raised him, said she has learned that students picked on Hunter because he had a scar above his right eye.

Hunter was involved in a car wreck when he was a toddler, leaving him with the scar and hearing difficulties, Layland said. Even after multiple surgeries, the scar was still visible.

Those attending the funeral at the Seventh Day Adventist Church said Hunter didn’t deserve the senseless teasing just because of a scar.

“We all have scars we hide,” said Darerick Morris, a 15-year-old student and Hunter’s friend. “Hunter wasn’t afraid to show his in public. He just wanted to make other people happy.” Full story.

3 Responses

  1. I am so greived to think how wicked, thoughtless, and ignorant Cleburne has become. This poor kids life has been sh*t and nobody stopped to say,”what is going on here”. This is a sh*t world and we all got it coming when things like this occur. I am angry and heartbroken to my core that this kid endured all the hell of losing his family then going to a school and living in a town where nobody intervened. I only wish I could have known or been there. I never knew him but wish I could. All I can do as a parent is teach my children tolerance, love, and mutual respect. We all as parents need to take a look in the mirror. It’s not about the house, job, and car, it’s life and we should live it with integrity, love, and compassion.

  2. I AM SORRY HUNTER LAYLAND FOR BEING TOO BUISY AND NOT TEACHING OTHERS TO CARE. I AM SORRY FOR NOT STOPPING AND MAKING A DIFFERENCE IN THIS WORLD EVERY DAY I AM BLESSED TO BE ALIVE. I HOPE GOD OPENS HIS ARMS TO WELCOME YOU AND GIVES YOU THE PEACE THIS WORLD NEVER AFFORDED YOU.

  3. Hunter I am sorry I didnt get to say the stuff I wanted before youu left this earth..
    You were a good friend
    && I miss youu dearly
    I didnt get to talk to youu the morning before youu left
    I miss youu
    I wish youu could come back && give me one last hugg
    Onee day I will see youu again
    I LOVE YOUU && MISS YOU HUNT!!!! (‘:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

